Summary of Society Awards

The awards program of the Soil and Water Conservation Society is designed to recognize individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions in advocating the conservation of soil, water and related natural resources. 

  • Conservation Innovation Award
  • Conservation Professional of the Year
  • Conservation Research Award
  • Fellow Award
  • Harold and Kay Scholl Excellence in Conservation Award
  • Hugh Hammond Bennett Award
  • Society Service Award

Nominations may be made by SWCS members and nonmembers for all awards. View the history of award winners.

The 2022 awards application deadline has passed. 

Summary of Society Scholarships

The Soil and Water Conservation Society has three scholarship opportunities for all members. Many other opportunities for scholarships are available through individual chapters. Contact your local chapter directly for information regarding those scholarships. 

Please note that you must be a member of the Soil and Water Conservation Society at the time of application to apply for these scholarships. To join SWCS, please go to

  • Donald A. Williams Soil Conservation Scholarship
  • Kenneth E. Grant Research Scholarship
  • Melville H. Cohee Student Leader Conservation Scholarship

The 2022 scholarship application deadline has passed. 

Contact with questions.